Australia Public Holidays 2019 – Plan Your Annual Leave Like A Pro

2019 is all about being smart. At Choice Hotels, we’ve got some major annual leave hacks to help you make smarter choices. If you play your cards right, you just might be able to get a significant amount of time off this year. Browse through inspirational travel articles and book great value accommodation at ChoiceHotels.com.

 

Did you know that Australia has some of the highest rates of unused leave among the world’s developed nations?

Even though Aussies have a reputation for being laid back, our report reveals that 1 in 4 Australian fail to take single short break in a year.

Not only is stress at work is a major cause for concern, it has huge repercussions on our long term mental health, anxiety levels and mood swings. There has been an alarming increase in the number of people who have been working years without taking any substantial time off and this has recently become more prevalent. Over 41% of Australians surveyed attributed ‘work’ as the main reason why they could not take a break.

With the aim to better take care of your health, this year we’re helping you be strategic with how to book leave days which will help you get the long holiday you deserve. 2019 is the perfect year to redeem yourself, here’s a list of weekends and public holidays (in bold).

Plan in advance, thank us later.


 

January Public Holidays 2019

Saturday 26 January

Sunday 27 January

Monday 28 January (Public holiday: Australia Day – Australia wide)

Holiday recommendationsA perfect way to enjoy the sunny weather and amazing food is to visit one of Australia’s most iconic scenic route where you can also enjoy the amazing beach and historic fishing port of Apollo Bay nearby. If you’re feeling adventurous, drive three hours from Melbourne to Port Fairy, aka the Shipwreck Coast.

Want to create your own route for your next road trip? We’ve got something just for you.

 


 

March Public Holidays 2019

Saturday 9 March

Sunday 10 March

Monday 11 March (Public holiday: Labour Day ACT, SA, TAS, VIC only)

Holiday recommendations: Plan your annual leave just in time for the Melbourne Food & Wine Festival, Port Fairy Folk Festival, or WOMADelaide. Add these 5 fabulous Victorian festivals to your bucket list!

 


 

April Public Holidays 2019

be a choice hotel member

Book direct & get lowest price guaranteed.

Saturday 13 April

Sunday 14 April

Friday 19 April (Public holiday: Good Friday – Australia wide)

Saturday 20 April

Sunday 21 April

Monday 22 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday – Australia wide)

Thursday 25 April (Public holiday: ANZAC Day – Australia wide)

Saturday 27 April

Sunday 28 April

Annual leave tip: Take seven annual leave days between 13th and 28th April to enjoy a total of 16 days off.

Holiday recommendations: With plenty of time off, now’s your chance to hit the road and tick some ‘must see’ Aussie locations off your list. Take a trip to Canberra for ANZAC day and check out these eight iconic places. There’s plenty of fun activities and events to choose from across the country too, with the  Perth Comedy Festival, Orange F.O.O.D Week, and the Easter Egg Hunt and Family Picnic in Tassie.

Need ideas for a road trip during Easter break? Take a look at these:

 


 

June Public Holidays 2019

Saturday 8 June

Sunday 9 June

Monday 10 June (Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday -VIC, NSW, TAS, NT, SA)

Saturday 15 June

Sunday 16 June

Annual leave tip: Take 4 annual leave days between 8th and 16th June to enjoy a total of 9 days off.

Holiday recommendationsThe Melbourne Good Food and Wine Show might be over, but the events calendar never stops, with the Melbourne International Jazz Festival. Thinking of exploring the capital city of Australia? Get a taste of mid-winter magic with the Canberra Truffle Festival.

A great way to spend NSW public holidays is by going to Sydney Film Festival or Wagga Wagga’s Comedy Fest. While you’re Sydney, take time out for these seven must-have experiences or ten affordable things to do.

If you’re not visiting one of the largest cities in Australia, consider the regional city of Wagga Wagga that offers a surprisingly diverse array of experiences for just about everyone.

 


 

travel inspiration articles need a break

Looking for travel inspiration? We’ve got something for you.

 


 

September Public Holidays 2019

Friday 27 September (Public holiday: AFL Grand Final Friday -VIC only)

Saturday 28 September

Sunday 29 September

Holiday recommendationsIt’s the perfect time to enjoy the last couple days of September at the Melbourne Fringe Festival or simply enjoy the AFL Grand Final festivities across the city. For country music lovers, there’s nothing better than the Mildura Country Music Festival.

 


 

November Public Holidays 2019

Saturday 2 November

Sunday 3 November

Tuesday 5 November (Public holiday: Melbourne Cup Day – VIC only)

Saturday 9 November

Sunday 10 November

Annual leave tip: Take 4 days of annual leave between 2nd and 10th November for a total of 9 days off.

Holiday recommendations: The regional city of Wangaratta comes alive for the Festival of Jazz and Blues in November, and is a perfect excuse to visit the region. If you’re staying in the city, experience the Melbourne Cup Carnival and get dress up in your best racing attire.

 


 

December Public Holidays 2019

Saturday 21 December

Sunday 22 December

Wednesday 25 December (Public holiday: Christmas Day – Australia wide)

Thursday 26 December (Public holiday: Boxing Day – Australia wide)

Saturday 28 December

Sunday 29 December

Annual leave tip: Take 5 days of annual leave for a total of 11 days off.

Holiday recommendations: Want to try something different this new year? Take a short flight and check out two of New Zealand’s premier music festivals Rhythm & Alps music festival and Rhythm and Vines music and camping festival – both set to welcome 2020 with a bang!

 


 

Take a look at New Zealand’s list of public holidays and anniversary dates in 2019. 

 


 

Where do you want to go?

Post Tags
Share Post